ofcomOfcom has invited applications for 21 local TV channels across the UK. The local TV channels will broadcast on a specially-reserved multiplex.
The initial areas identified for local TV channels are: Belfast, Birmingham, Brighton & Hove, Bristol, Cardiff, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Grimsby, Leeds, Liverpool, London, Manchester, Newcastle, Norwich, Nottingham, Oxford, Plymouth, Preston, Sheffield, Southampton and Swansea.

In addition to inviting applicants for 21 stations, Ofcom is today also inviting applications to run the local TV multiplex. As well as broadcasting on Digital terrestrial television (DTT), local TV channels may choose to offer their services on satellite, cable and online.
The multiplex operator will be required to cover all of the areas above and to propose which areas additionally to cover; they can select from 44 other areas where coverage is technically possible or make a case for other areas to be added.

Share Button

By Expat